Mary L. Staudenmaier Named to WBA Leaders in Banking Excellence

November 5, 2021

Mary L. Staudenmaier, former bank President and Chairman of the Board at SNBT, was honored by the Wisconsin Bankers Association for her excellence in banking, community service, and civic involvement. A celebration was held on Friday, October 29 at the WBA headquarters in Madison, where a Leaders in Banking Excellence Wall installation displays a tribute to outstanding current and former bankers. The wall was established in 2020, and five Class of 2021 honorees join the 12 inaugural honorees.
“Mary has made significant contributions to Wisconsin’s banking industry and to the economic wellbeing of our state,” said Rose Oswald Poels, WBA president and CEO. “Part of what makes her an exceptional leader is that she has inspired others to succeed in their professions and in service to their communities.”
Staudenmaier has been a lifelong community leader and an avid proponent of the banking industry. In 1973, she founded the Trust Department at SNBT, shortly after earning her law degree from Marquette University in 1971. In 1979, she was appointed the bank’s first female president and named Chairman of the Board, carrying out this role until her retirement in 2013. The bank grew from $27 million to $300 million in assets under her leadership.

Staudenmaier’s community service includes: M&M Area Community Foundation, Twin Counties’ Free Clinic, Marinette Medical Care Foundation, Clothes Vault, Holy Family Parish, Catholic Diocese of Green Bay, Marinette County Bar Association, Board of Trustees at Mount Mary College (now Mount Mary University), Dean’s Advisory Board of Marquette University Law School, the WBA Board and the Wisconsin State Board of Bar Examiners.

The honorees in the 2021 Leaders in Banking Excellence Class are: Jon Bernander, Bank of Wisconsin Dells; Robert Gorsuch, Oak Bank, Fitchburg; Mary L. Staudenmaier, The Stephenson National Bank & Trust (SNBT), Marinette; John Godfrey Thomson, The Bank of New Glarus; and Merlin E. Zitzner, Baraboo State Bank.

To read the bios of each of the 2021 Leaders in Banking Excellence honorees, please visit